Register

TurboFloorPlan 2017 is Shipping!!!

Print to file / plotting
Read 5642 times
* October 23, 2007, 09:20:31 AM
I am new to TFP and fairly new to CAD. (I'm an old pencil user).  I have been using SoftPlan for about a year and find my local print shop wants my plans in .plt format for plotting.

I have the HP GL/2 plotter drivers installed. For the SoftPlan plotting I can go throught the print function and print to file saving in the .plt format.

When I try that with TurboFloor I get through the entire process then it won't print to a file. Messages come up re .bmp and or operation not enabled.

What's up??

* October 23, 2007, 12:29:41 PM
davgail,

What are you trying to print?  The GL/2 plotter drivers, I believe, are only for vector printing.  If the image is composed of color fills and rendered views then you would need to use raster printing driver.  That is why it asks if you want to save as a .bmp.  You might want to check with your print shop.  Most will accept .pdf files and that seems to be the most common file type everyone uses.  If they don't have that ability it might be time to find a new one.

Hope this is of help,
MCP

* October 23, 2007, 01:53:17 PM
MCP
Thanks for the reply. I went through the exercise again and found you are no doubt correct. The actual wording is "This device no capable of transferring bitmaps" I assume that is referring to the GL/2 plotter. I am trying to print/plot what I thought was a simple 2D drawing in TFP, but I guess the program works in bitmap images.

I checked with the printer and they can work with PDF. How do I  get the drawing it into PDF?

Thanks
Dave

* October 23, 2007, 03:49:16 PM
Dave,