Register

TurboFloorPlan 2017 is Shipping!!!

workaround for objects that can't be rotated
Read 601 times
September 29, 2015, 12:54:37 PM
Hi! I'm a 3D newbie, interested in architectural design. I'm currently using TFP3D v16. This is my first post on this site. I've used several cheap home design programs in the past and have decided that TFP3D is the best inexpensive program of the lot. I like to think OOTB (out-of-the-box) and I prefer more modern designs. I'm currently working on a 4-unit cluster house intended for a beach setting (not that it'll ever actually be built) and I've come up with a possible solution for rotating objects that cannot normally be rotated. I was trying to add a couple of vertical chutes leading from a kitchen counter down to a couple of bins located in the basement. They're designed to provide a quick and easy way to dispose of deposit and recyclable non-deposit containers. Just drop the containers down the chutes and, presto, you avoid cluttering up the kitchen. After a long catalog search I settled on 'Rain Down Spout 3' from Exterior Plumbing Fixtures as just what I was looking for. But when I installed them I found that they faced backwards and couldn't be rotated. After quite awhile trying various ways to rotate them in 2D Plan View with no success I finally went to 3D Perspective View and found that they rotated just fine. Then I just adjusted their length and elevation and now they look just like they should. I'm including a couple of screencaps of them.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2015, 01:05:59 PM by Moodie-1 »

* October 05, 2015, 07:09:43 AM
Hi and welcome to the forum,

I tried using Rain Down Spout 3 myself but had no problem rotating it, in the plan or 3D view. Maybe I have changed the Snap Edge settings at some time in the past. The Snap Edge setting (on the Behaviour tab), will force an object to align to the wall, depending which edge is selected.