Register

TurboFloorPlan 2017 is Shipping!!!

Convert Gable to Hip roof
Read 390 times
* March 16, 2017, 06:47:50 PM
Hi Folks,
I am new at using TBF and I have TBF 3D Home and Landscape Deluxe V17 for Windows 8, 7, XP.  I purchased it about 3 years ago in April 2014 and I am just now getting around to using it.

I generated a house plan with Quick Start and realized it created a Hip roof ( I didn't shut off automatic roof generation). I then tried to change the Hip roof to a Gable roof without any success. Is there any easy way to do that?  I also tried to find a way to delete the Hip roof, but without success.  Is there an easy way to do that?

After my previous lack of success I regenerated a new house plan using Quick Start with the automatic roof generation function turned off.  On completion I used the Roof Tool to create a Gable roof, but I am having trouble creating the "full" Gable end side walls. I was able to do one end with a lot of frustration and trial and error attempts with wall height.  The opposite Gable end of the house plan is more complicated as it has a 90 degree L shape design with a connected Gable roof to the main Gable roof. The problem I am having here is to segment the outer wall so that I can create only a portion of it as a full Gable end wall as part of this outer wall is at the standard 8' height.  Is there an easy way of creating a "full" Gable end wall along only a portion of an outside wall?

All this frustration makes me wonder why the Turbo Floor Plan software designers default to generating a Hip roof when the vast majority of the houses I see have a Gable or combination of Gable roof designs.  It seems like in the real world it is easier to build a Gable roof than a Hip roof, but not in Turbo Floor Plan.

March 17, 2017, 04:55:31 AM
Hi Ray,

V17 is an old program: current versions recognize the shape of walls (gable or straight) and develop the roofs accordingly.