Adding Items To Catalog

Started by garystan, February 28, 2012, 02:35:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

garystan


          Hi everybody :

                  Question :    When I add an Element to the Library, such as a .jpeg (for textures), then either  "Save As" or "Save"  the Catalog,  the added items  stay in the catalog for future use.   Correct ?   Even after  closing a session, then re-opening a file in TFP v15,  those items will still be there  ?      I think the answer is yes,  but I just want confirmation of this.

                                                                                                                                                 garystan

Allan Chesney

Hi Garystan,

The answer is YES and NO!

YES everything you add to the Catalogue will be saved and be usable on future occasions, but technically, with the example you give re a texture image, the answer is NO as textures are not actually in the catalogue but in the Textures folder on your computer.

The Catalogue stores Elements, but textures are drawn from your computer hard drive when needed. You can save textures in various places on your hard drive, rather than in the TFP Textures folder, and they will still work but if you later change a folder name or image name for example, all affected textures will fail and the Element will be just white. The texture is not part of the Element or the model, so if you send the model to someone else, any textures you added, or photoboards, will not be there.

Also I just wondered how you are saving  elements to the Catalogue as the way I do it you do not get a Save or Save As option - the save is just automatic. The way you are doing it probably works fine but just sounds more complicated than it needs to be.

Allan
Allan Chesney,
Kalamunda, Perth, Western Australia
www.alchesdesigns.iinet.net.au

TurboFloorPlan Home and Landscape Pro V16.0.C1.901
Envisioneer Construction Suite V9.1.2.1234
TurboCAD V17 Professional